2021 Annual Meeting

Each year the Museum has an Annual Meeting. It is an opportunity for our members and the general public to get together for a fun history program and allows the Museum to hold its election. This years program will include two parts! A program on the history of the North Bend Theatre by a question and answer panel of theatre owners’ past and present led by Kevin and Beth Burrows and a reading from Dave Battey’s upcoming book compilating a selection of his over 200 Snoqualmie Valley history articles from the Snoqualmie Valley Reporter!

Please bring your friends, family and neighbors to join us on Sunday, November 21 at 10am!

In addition to the program, the Museum’s Annual Meeting includes a short business portion. This will feature the election of new and reappointed of current board members, a confirmation of next year’s board officers and the confirmation of proposed amendments to the bylaws.

Bylaws Update

The Bylaws are the legal document that set the rules and procedures for running the Museum. The Board of Trustees regularly review these to ensure they are following the procedures outlined in the document, and to make amendments to them as necessary. Last updated in 1997, the Board would like to make two changes immediately to bring them in line with current circumstances. As per our bylaw amendments procedures, a written copy of proposed changes must be mailed to the membership in advance of the Annual Meeting. The membership then votes to approve the recommended changes at the Annual Meeting.

The philosophies of the current changes are as follows:

1. By allowing the board to range from 12 to 15 members, the nomination committee has greater flexibility when pursuing candidates for the Board. The intent is not to grow the board to 15 members but to allow the Board to adjust the number when there are multiple strong candidates.

2. The tasks performed by the Corresponding Secretary have diminished over the years to the point that the position is no longer necessary. The few tasks that remain involve minor word processing that will be addressed by the Board officers or the Museum’s Assistant Director.

Amend Section II, sub-point 1 of the bylaws to read: “This Society shall be governed by a Board of Trustees of 12 members, or up to 15 under special circumstances.”

Amend Section II, sub-point 3 to read “The Officers of this Society shall be President, Vice-president, Recording Secretary and Treasurer and [they] shall be designated Executive Committee,” and to strike Section IV [Duties of Officers], sub-point 4.

The curent Section II, sub-point 1 of the bylaws reads: “This Society shall be governed by a Board of Trustees of 12 members.”

The current Section II, sub-point 3 reads: “The officers of this Society shall be President, Vice-president, Recording Secretary, Corresponding Secretary and Treasurer and shall be designated Executive Committee.”

The current Section IV [Duties of Officers], sub-point 4 reads: “4.  The Corresponding Secretary shall conduct all correspondence of the Society, as directed by the Board; shall keep on file all papers, reports and copies of correspondence of the business of the Society, as directed by the Board;”

The Board of Trustees

One important aspect of the Annual Meeting is the confirmation of new board members and officers. Current board members include Vicki Bettes, Kevin Burrows, Brian Davis, Dick Kirby, Katie Klahn, Emily Lee, Mary Miller, Fay Rene, Fritz Ribary, Gardiner Vinnedge and Board Members Emeritus Gloria McNeely and David Battey.

Board members are the fiduciaries who steer the Museum towards a sustainable future by adopting sound, ethical, and legal governance and financial management policies, as well as by making sure the nonprofit has adequate resources to advance its mission. Board members provide foresight, oversight, and insight. In addition to legal duties and serving as a fiduciary of the organization’s assets, board members also play very significant roles providing guidance to Museum by contributing to the organization’s culture, strategic focus, effectiveness, and financial sustainability, as well as serving as ambassadors and advocates. Beyond fulfilling legal duties, board members can be important resources for the Museum in multiple ways. Board members advance the mission of the organization. Board members are responsible for recruiting new members. Most of the board’s work is completed in committees, and board members are expected to serve as needed.

For this election, Heather Anderson, Steven Moses, and Xandra Trostel have been nominated to fill two vacancies and a position that is opening up as Vicki Bettes has decided to not seek re-election.

Heather Anderson is a literacy and history curriculum editor for Heinemann Publishing, a leading producer of K-12 education resources. Heather, her husband Casey, and their three school-aged children live in a farmette just off of Tokul Road. Passionate about including authentic local history in curriculum, Heather brings international level curriculum development and interpretation expertise to the board. Heather has for several years turned to the Museum when she has had in depth questions about our history.

wiaac syayayəʔ, Steven Moses ti dsdaʔ. sdukʷalbix̌ čəd. Hello, friends, I am Steven Moses, a member of the Snoqualmie Tribe and the Director of Archaeology & Historic Preservation. I am also a veteran of the U.S. Air Force. I been involved in cultural resource protection for over 16 years. Before that I worked as a network administrator and GIS technician for 10 years. This experience has taught me to solve complex problems and approach projects with a resolve to negotiate conflicts through collaboration. I live in downtown Snoqualmie with my beautiful wife Josie Moses (also a Tribal member) and our 6-year-old daughter, Skyla who just started kindergarten at Snoqualmie Elementary.  I have a love of history and I am passionate about learning and sharing our collective stories. hawadubš čələp! (Thank you!)

Xandra Trostel brings with her a passion for both nature and local history. She has owned a local outdoor education preschool in North Bend for over twenty years where she teaches children about our local environment. Born in Nelems hospital, Xandra has lived in the Snoqualmie Valley all of her life.  Her parents owned the North Bend theater for thirty plus years when she was growing up.  With a passion for Snoqualmie Valley History, she often comments on Museum Facebook entries, while her own page is full of exceptional nature photos. She and her son Eli live close to Uncle Si’s original cabin site, just outside of North Bend; several years ago she requested some one-on-one Valley history tours for herself and Eli and Dave Battey was happy to oblige.

Also well as our three new nominations; Dick Kirby, Fay Rene and Fritz Ribary are recommended for reappointment. Our purposed slate of officers this year is Kevin Burrows, President; Emily Lee, Vice President; Gardiner Vinnedge, Treasurer and still to be determined, Recording Secretary.